While many residential buildings remain, fire has not been kind to the community’s business district. The only remaining commercial establishment is Casey’s Place, a local watering hole. Alleghany is the last stop for many miles of driving the historic Henness Pass Road to Jackson Meadows Reservoir or Foote’s Crossing Road to Malakoff Diggins. It is also on the German Bar Road for the 4WD or dirt bike enthusiast.
Many buildings in town date to the 1800s and are a photographer’s delight. The Underground Gold Miners Museum is housed in the old Alleghany Supply Company building at 356 Main Street. While it has no regular hours, tours are booked by appointment and the museum can be contacted via their website at www.undergroundgold.com. The museum contains a wonderful display of artifacts and photographs of the history of both the community and its mining industry.
The venerable Sixteen to One Mine, incorporated in 1911, remains an Alleghany institution and is one of the few working underground mines in the region. Tours of the mine are available. For more information, contact the Sixteen to One Mine at www.origsix.com or via email at [email protected]
The remote community of Alleghany represents the era when the mining of gold was a significant industry within the region. The community was founded in 1851 by a group of miners from Allegheny County, Pennsylvania who memorialized their roots with a slight change in spelling. Still home to the rich and century old Sixteen to One Mine, the town today boasts a population of about 60. Situated on a ridge above the Middle Yuba River and its tributary of Kanaka Creek, the community is surrounded by the Tahoe National Forest.
Time Period Represented
1850s to present
Accessible year round; chains can be required in the winter as Alleghany routinely sees snow.